Day 1 of my Zero to Hero challenge!

DAY 1: INTRODUCE YOURSELF.

Simples, no?! Who I am and why I chose to start blogging should be easy questions to answer, as straight forward as knowing my own name and favourite crisp flavour…so why am I having such trouble deciding what to write? Primarily because ‘who I am’ depends largely on the time of day; ask me first thing in the morning and my answer will be that I’m a stay at home mum with the herculean task of getting four young children up, washed, dressed and to school and nursery on time. Preferably without raising my voice or threatening the 3-2-1-naughty step at the exact moment we should be leaving the house. Most days this is a fail.

Ask me who I am at lunchtime, and I’m a graphic designer extra-ordinaire with looming deadlines, creative genius block and a mountain of paperwork to achieve before school pick-up.

Ask me who I am on a Friday night, and the answer would be Jack Daniels swilling party girl, desperate for a boogie – if my friends are available then all the better, alternatively activating my kids disco ball in my kitchen will have to suffice!

Ask me at 3am and my most honest answer will be aspiring writer…

So I guess in reality, the truth is this. I’m a 30 something woman who is trying to be many things to all people because that’s what we do, isn’t it? We live the modern dream that we can be super woman in the home and a success in the office. Fortunately, I have an amazing husband and four gorgeous children who support my choices and enable me to be all of these things, in my own way.

And why have I decided to blog? Because as grateful as I am that this is my life, and thankful to have achieved all that we have so far, I still want more. Four little letters, so much meaning. More what? Ambition, challenge, excitement, humour, reward, escapism…FUN! and I enjoy writing, a lot. So I decided to blog. To read other people’s adventures, meet new people, develop my writing skills and share my own story. What genuinely happens in a typical day as a modern mum, well, you couldn’t make it up sometimes, so I’ve decided to record it. I don’t remember much about the first couple of years of being a triplet mum. It wasn’t an easy time in my life and I’ve subconsciously blocked much of it out. I look at new mums of multiples now and feel guilty when I see them look lovingly at their tiny babies, because I never did. I missed that part of their lives because I was struggling to maintain my relationship with my first daughter, and try hard to keep hold of everything else. I don’t mean to sound maudlin (I’m actually a very jolly person!) but that’s the truth behind my motivation to blog. But this blog won’t solely be about my multiple mummy adventure…it’ll be a combination of life, love, laughter and probable lunacy. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of my Zero to Hero challenge!

  1. I love the honesty in your post. I’m a mother of one and can only imagine how difficult it would be to have 3 and an older daughter! I think you must be a super woman! I’m looking forward to reading more. Cheers!

  2. Thank you for your comment, I’m totally new to this blogging malarkey and it’s very rewarding to receive such positive feedback! Much appreciated. 🙂

    I think being a mum can be bllimmin’ hard work whether you have 1 child or 100 – I was chatting with a friend at the school gates recently and we decided that the only way to ensure you give multiple children the same level of attention at all times, is to neglect them equally. Works for me! 😉

Leave a Reply

